English Proficiency

International Observers must provide proof of English language proficiency. Please refer to the list of approved exams and minimum score requirement below:

*Proficiency Exams/Minimum Score:

Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL):	80
American Examination of the International English Language Testing System (IELTS):	6.5
<u>Duolingo English Test:</u>	110

English proficiency exemptions:

- Applicants who are U.S. citizens or U.S. permanent residents;
- Applicants who have earned a bachelor's degree or higher from a regionally accredited college or university in the U.S.;
- Applicants who have earned the equivalent of a U.S. bachelor's degree or higher from an
 international institution that is officially recognized by that country, and the country is on the
 <u>English-Speaking Country and Territory List;</u>
- Applicants who are citizens from a country or territory listed on the <u>English-Speaking Country</u> and <u>Territory List.</u>

We recommend achieving acceptable scores prior to submitting your application. **Scores must be no more than two years old on the day you are scheduled to begin your observer appointment.** Failure to satisfy the English Language Proficiency requirement will impact our ability to review an application.

English Speaking Country and Territory List

International applicants who are citizens from one of the qualifying countries are exempt from the English proficiency requirement.

- American Samoa
- Anguilla
- Antigua and Barbuda
- Australia
- Bahamas
- Barbados
- Belize
- Bermuda
- Canada (except the Province of Quebec)
- Cayman Islands
- Dominica
- Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)
- Ghana
- Gibraltar
- Grenada
- Guam
- Guyana
- Ireland, Republic of
- Jamaica
- Kenya
- Liberia
- Micronesia Islands, Federated States of
- Montserrat
- New Zealand
- Nigeria
- Philippines
- Saint Kitts and Nevis
- Saint Lucia
- Saint Helena
- South Africa
- St. Vincent and the Grenadines
- Trinidad and Tobago
- Turks and Caicos Islands
- United Kingdom (England, Scotland, Northern Ireland, and Wales)
- United States
- Virgin Islands
- Zimbabwe